July 2016 Dividend Update

July was a ratIMG_20160105_131537644her uneventful month, if we compare it to June with all the Brexit noises and the explosion of news that hit the markets.

As a matter of fact July was not uneventful at all it seems that theย economic focus now shifted towards Italy and its bad banks, then Europe in general, then more Italy and banking crisis, then only one bank that didn’t pass the stress tests… Well, to be honest with you I believe that there is a lot of speculation going on, Italy is an easy target so here we go. Brexit has been lurking at the background, maybe Bank of England will lower interest rates to help the UK economy (which is showing some disappointing numbers), but as the actual exit from Europe is concerned nothing really happened, I think that governments (especially UK) is trying to figure out what mess they have to untangle, and the appointment of Theresa May was just the fist step in order to clear up the mess. We’ll see what happens there, though I don’t think it will be an easy ride for the UK.

As to the long haul PF, this month I had quite a lot of options income to support the final result, which comes back to the ground after the two previous record setting months of May and June. Final total was 856.92 Euro (324 Euro from Options), a good month nevertheless.

KO – STOCK USD 18.55
BME:ENG – STOCK EUR 58.61
PEP – STOCK USD 25.59
BIT:G – OPTION EUR 32.4
BIT:G – OPTION EUR -21.1
CSCO – OPTION USD 20
LON:WPP – STOCK GBP 21.59
AMS:UL – STOCK EUR 48.5
MPW – OPTION USD 21
WY – OPTION USD 30
LON:OML – OPTION GBP 20
LON:HSBA – STOCK GBP 51.29
LON:VOD – OPTION GBP 22.5
KO – OPTION USD 30
MPW – STOCK USD 20.71
BIT:G – OPTION EUR 13.3
CINF – STOCK USD 9.6
O – STOCK USD 4.99
LON:BT.A – OPTION GBP 50
OHI – OPTION USD 55
LON:GSK – STOCK GBP 49.40
LON:OML – OPTION GBP 25
ORI – OPTION USD 10
OHI – OPTION USD 14
GE – STOCK USD 12.65
DIS – STOCK USD 17.75
NRZ – STOCK USD 117.31
BPOP 2022 – BOND EUR 103.08

And your July? How was it?

13 thoughts on “July 2016 Dividend Update

    1. Thanks Chris! I am cooling off a bit now because I have covered my cash availability so I need for some options to expire, but I want to continue this part of the trade. I also have to thank you for the advice and ideas! ๐Ÿ™‚
      ciaociao
      Stal

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ciao Tristan,
      Thanks or stopping by! The important point is to start the compounding machine, I am in a period of my life where I can save a lot, but that might change and maybe I’ll be able to invest less in the future. This is another transition year, the real deal will happen in 2017 where we will be comparing more or less the same amounts. If I can show these growths next year I’d be totally happy of course! ๐Ÿ™‚
      cia ocaio
      Stal

      Like

    1. Ciao ATL,
      Options can be much more rewarding than standard dividends if I keep this rate of “return”, but I am sure that there will be hard times there too, so I need to watch out. All it takes is a bad month and all the buildup could be vanished… We’ll see, so far so good I’d say! ๐Ÿ™‚
      cia ociao

      Stal

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi Stal,
    That’s a great Year on Year improvement – congrats! Perhaps you could color code or indicate in the chart the contributions from options vs dividends?; it’d be nice to see what kind of percentages both income streams are providing to the total.
    Best wishes,
    -DL

    Like

    1. Ciao DL,
      I am trying to get that colour coded division in the graph but apparently is not so easy… Or maybe I am totally useless and still haven’t figured out how to do it… ๐Ÿ™‚
      Need to revamp the reporting engine anyways because it’s getting a bit messy…:)

      Like

      1. Cool – I hope you figure it out. I don’t know for Google Docs, but in Excel you treat the dividends and option amounts as separate series and change the Chart Type to a total bar chart, so the bars are on top of each other instead of side by side.
        -DL

        Like

  2. Ciao DL,
    Yes it’s the same what I am not able to do at the moment is the comparison between years and have the monthly graphs divided like you said… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I hope I’ll figure out something… ๐Ÿ˜›
    Stal

    Like

Leave a Reply

